Best Kids Quilts 2015 Blog Tour

Welcome to today’s stop on the Quilter’s Newsletter Best Kids Quilts 2015 Blog Tour.  Thanks for checking me out!

CuddlyKid-Fuchsia-Styled_800

Cuddle Kid

Take a close look at my quilt “Cuddle Kid”. Notice something about my quilt that is different from some of the other quilts in this issue?  My quilt is made with Cuddle  Pre-cuts from Shannon Fabrics, also called minky, that super-soft fabric you can’t help but touch when you walk by.

But, do you just walk by and not take any home?  Do you have questions about how to sew with minky? Then keep reading.  I made this quilt with you in mind.  First, I used Shannon Fabric Cuddle Pre-cuts!  (Pre-cut minky, that’s awesome!)

Cuddle Pre-cuts!

Cuddle Pre-cuts!

I kept the size small so you can try on a smaller project first. And I left the design very simple so you can focus on working with the new fabric.

Another color way

Zoologie Midnight from Shannon Fabrics

I started just where you are, wanting to sew with minky but unsure how. If you want to learn more, I have three blog posts where I share all the info and tricks that worked for me.

Start withMaking Minky Easy – My Best Tips for Working With Minky“.

Minky Yardage

Cuddle fabric

If you want to make a cute stuffed critter, readMaking Minky Easy – How to Stuff an Owl“. The owl pattern, “Happy Scrappy Whoo” is available from Macay Manor Muesers.

2 Owls

“Happy Scrappy Whoo”

And, if you are thirsty for more, read “Making Minky Easy – My Best Binding Method“.  Finished Binding

The pattern for this quilt, “Tiger Eye” is available from my website, Jenny Kae Quilts.

Tiger Eye Flat

And now for some free stuff!  We have two different prizes. You have one week to enter!

For your chance to win, post a comment below between Monday, May 4th at 6:00am MST will Monday, May 11th. and two people will be randomly selected.

Cuddle Pre-cuts!

First Prize  Zoologie 10″ and 5″ preucts

5" Cuddle Charms in Zoologie Fuchsia and Girly Girl

Second Prize 5″ Cuddle Charms in Zoologie Fuchsia and Girly Girl

Good luck, thanks for coming to my blog and have fun on your tour!

Jenny Kae

#jennykaequilts #cuddlefabric #shannotfabrics #quiltersnewsletter #bestkidsquilts

87 thoughts on “Best Kids Quilts 2015 Blog Tour

  1. What could be more fun than owls and softness? I am in love with the monkeys too so your quilt is the perfect way to merge the two or three together! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  2. This is such a nice quilt for a little cuddle. Thanks for showing it andoffering neat prizes.

  3. Pingback: Seams Like a Dream Quilt Designs — Best Kid’s Quilt 2015 Blog Tour

  4. Thanks for the great designs and ideas! My first Grandbaby will be joining our family this fall so I will be working on lots of new projects!

  5. It’s true – you can’t walk past minky without stroking it. Loving the names of the pre-cuts – Cuddle Cakes! My two favourite things 😉

  6. Love the monkey fabric. I would make something adorable for my own little “monkey”.

  7. I have to admit I have never seen Cuddle precuts! That must be the softest quilt ever!

  8. Love the feel of minkie but I’ve never seen the Cuddle Charms. The monkeys are so cute.

  9. I’ve always been a little afraid of Minky but with your tips now to guide me I think I’ll give it a try.

  10. The first time I sewed with minky, it was the bubble type. I pressed it and it meant the fabric became quite distorted, so I have been hesitant to use it since!

  11. Your quilt looks so soft and cuddly that I want to snuggle under it. Thanks for the giveaway. I have never tried Minky.

Comments are closed.